



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Sarah Kidd Manager, Programs and Donor Relations SarahK@aaoptom.org

2023 American Academy of Optometry Foundation Student and Resident Travel Fellowship Recipients Announced

WINTER PARK, FL – October 27, 2023 - The American Academy of Optometry and its Foundation are pleased to congratulate the recipients of the 2023 Student and Resident Travel Fellowship awards. These \$750 travel fellowships supported attendance among student and resident members of the Academy at Academy 2023 New Orleans, October 11-14, 2023.

The 2023 Resident Travel Fellowship recipients are:

Allergan Resident Travel Fellowship

Jordan Carrington, OD, University of Alabama at Birmingham Samantha Chan, OD, University of California Berkeley Tiffany Chen, OD, State University of New York Yung Fen Chen, OD, University of California Berkeley Graham Chung, OD, University of California Berkeley Caroline Donato, OD, State University of New York Victoria Duque-Ferreira, OD, Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University Angelica Echiverri, OD, University of Houston College of Optometry Meredith Fry, OD, Southern College of Optometry Diana Geraghty, OD, State University of New York Chad Herschberger, OD, Indiana University School of Optometry Elaine Ho, OD, University of California Berkeley Ryan Junidi, OD, Illinois College of Optometry Kevin La. OD. University of California Berkelev Jenny Lee, OD, BSc, University of Waterloo Ashley Olson, OD, Midwestern University Riddhi Patel, OD, Illinois College of Optometry Helene Pippin, OD, Ferris State University Bradley Salus, OD, Southern California College of Optometry Samuel Soda, OD, Indiana University School of Optometry Emmy Tian, OD, University of California Berkeley Lindsey Tillery, OD, Southern College of Optometry

McKenna Turrill, OD, University of California Berkeley Taylor Vincent, OD, Northeastern State University Alexander Wong, OD, Illinois College of Optometry

Florida Chapter Resident Travel Fellowship

Hsuan Ariel Chao, OD, Nova Southeastern University Alberta Pengo, OD, New England College of Optometry

Ocutech Resident Travel Fellowship

Cade Oost, OD, Southern California College of Optometry Ellen Ren, OD, State University of New York Darian Travis, OD, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Optometric Residency Matching Service Resident Travel Fellowship

Katie Kyles, OD, University of Missouri at St. Louis Jourdan Valkner Krause, OD, Midwestern University

The 2023 Student Travel Fellowship recipients are:

American Academy of Optometry Student Travel Fellowship

Adam Bayer, The Ohio State University Kelly Bisignano, University of Houston College of Optometry Maddison Fortman, The Ohio State University Cassandra Huynh, University of Waterloo Jon Kuznia, State University of New York Venessa Machac Sailors, Rosenberg School of Optometry Allison Noe, The Ohio State University Suharsha Paidaimarri, University of Houston College of Optometry Vamsi Parimi, MSc, Indiana University School of Optometry Adam Ross, University of Houston College of Optometry Emilio Saenz, Rosenberg School of Optometry Erica Shelton, OD, MSc, FAAO, The Ohio State University Lien Vu, University of Houston College of Optometry Jesse Wang, State University of New York Jessica Zhang, University of California Berkeley

Arizona Chapter Student Travel Fellowship

Joshua Reese, Midwestern University

Bence Clinical Student Travel Fellowship Matthew Pham, University of Houston College of Optometry

Bence Family Leadership Student Travel Fellowship

Tyson Montgomery, The Ohio State University

Beta Sigma Kappa Student Travel Fellowship

Brianna Aheimer, Southern College of Optometry

Brazelton Low Vision Student Travel Fellowship Phillippa Dorling, New England College of Optometry

David Lewerenz Low Vision Student Travel Fellowship

Rebecca Deffler, OD, MS, FAAO, Ohio State University

Edward I. Goodlaw Student Travel Fellowship

Abigail Kuborn, Indiana University School of Optometry

Elmer H. Eger Student Travel Fellowship

Kaylin Maxwell, The Ohio State University Jin Yang, Nova Southeastern University

Frank W. Weymouth Student Travel Fellowship

Chieh-Lin Wu, University of New South Wales Ashwin Irungovel, State University of New York

Irvin M. Borish Student Travel Fellowship

Kristine Ly, Pacific University School of Optometry Jennyffer Smith, OD, FAAO, University of Houston College of Optometry

Kirschen Family Student Travel Fellowship

Brazil Andrews, Rosenberg School of Optometry

Lois Schoenbrun Student Travel Fellowship

Nia Ebrahim, State University of New York

Luxottica Student Travel Fellowship

Ian Binns, The Ohio State University

Michael G. Harris Student Travel Fellowship

Emily Benson, Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University

N. Rex Ghormley Student Travel Fellowship

Sampson Abu, OD, FAAO, The Ohio State University

About the American Academy of Optometry

The American Academy of Optometry (AAO) enhances excellence in optometric practice by fostering research and disseminating knowledge in vision science through its journals, *Optometry and Vision Science* and *Clinical Insights in Eyecare*, and the continuing education presented at its annual meeting. Fellows of the Academy are committed to the premise that learning is a lifelong obligation of a professional, as is the commitment to expand the profession's knowledge base through ongoing fellowship and exchange. For more information, visit http://www.aaopt.org.

About the American Academy of Optometry Foundation

The American Academy of Optometry Foundation is the 501(c)(3) philanthropic arm of the American Academy of Optometry. It was founded in 1947 for "upholding, broadening, fostering, promoting, and aiding optometric education, the profession of optometry, and its practitioners." The Foundation provides financial support for optometric research and vision and eye health education to improve patient clinical care. Learn more at www.aaopt.org/aaof.